+1(212)459-3800 [email protected]

President Donald J. Trump has signed an executive order that suspends the entry of foreign nationals from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen to the United States for a period of 90 days, or through April 27, 2017. The order also reportedly suspends a worldwide program that exempted certain visa renewal applicants from consular interviews.

The current position of the administration is as follows:

  1.  Individuals who are U.S. legal permanent residents and citizens of one of the seven countries are now admissible to the U.S. and will not be delayed entry;
  1.  Dual Citizens that present a passport from a country that is not subject to the entry ban will be treated as a citizen of that country, and will be admitted to the U.S. if eligible;
  1.  The District Field Officer has been delegated “waiver authority” to allow individuals from one of the seven countries to be admitted to the U.S. absent derogatory information.

The ban could be extended, and could be expanded to additional foreign countries. However at this time there are no additional countries that have been added to the list.

We will continue to closely monitor the situation and will post any additional updates.

Last updated February 3, 2017